Southern Districts currently fields one team in Rugby Victoria's newly launched Premiership Division with Cerberus Rugby Union Club playing as our seconds team.


The Premiership Competition comprises of clubs from Melbourne's metropolitan region who are generally able to field two teams. 


Our Senior team will compete for the Ward Shield.

2020 Senior Coaching Structure


The Committee is excited to announce the following Senior Coaching Structure for 2020.  


Director of Coaching - Tim Fry (Rugby Australia Level 4 Performance Coach)

Senior Head Coach - Henry Luapo 

First Aid and Physio - Murray Whitelaw

Technical Coach - Graeme Roach


Tim Fry

After a break from rugby Tim comes with exceptional experience in coaching education and has previously worked as an ARU Assessor.  He has also coached at schools level, senior rugby and representative level, coaching in both London and Victoria.   Tim's focus at the club over the next couple of years will be as a mentor to our senior and junior coaches, with a focus on their development.  He will also be a key component in implementing a number of programs and initiatives, and collaborating with our coaches on developing a "Pirates" rugby program.


Henry Luapo

Henry is an extremely well respected member of the club's Masters team and has great experience coaching in NZ and Australia, in both Rugby League and Union.  He has coached successful junior and senior teams, women's teams and representative teams, including Wellington Samoan Rugby League.  Recently he has coached senior level at Casey Warriors, 1st grade and Reserves.  Henry will be introducing an ethos of work ethic, commitment and ownership to the senior squad and he is a valuable addition to our coaching ranks.


Murray Whitelaw

Murray is a long time servant and Life Member of the club.  His contribution to the club is well known and he is invaluable in both his First Aid role and cultural leadership.


Graeme Roach

Graeme will be assisting with the technical aspects of the forwards play, in particular the set piece.  Graeme is a very experienced senior coach having coached 1st grade at both Melbourne Unicorns and Moorabbin Rams.  


We are still seeking dedicated Assistant Coach's to support Henry and a Team Manager to assist with administrative aspects on game day.


Our coaching structure is dedicated to renewing the "Pirate" brand and building a formidable senior rugby program which is respected across the state.  This program will extend across both the junior and senior programs, as well build pathways to assist our juniors to transition to senior rugby.  We welcome all our members, past and present, to embrace and support the club as we rebuild and restore pride in our rugby program.


Senior training's run Mondays and Thursdays at the Pirate Ship from 6:30pm.